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The 2017 Laws of Bridge
A Guide for Players

(Deals with correct procedures – not rectifications)

© 2017 JB Portwood

Introduction

 Laws are revised every 10 years or so.

 The new laws have tried to be easier to read and understand.

 Laws are slightly fairer to sides that bid out of turn or make insufficient bids.

 This PowerPoint presentation generally deals with changes in procedures, NOT 

rectifications.

 Efforts are made to keep the same rule numbers between revisions. This year 

only one rule has been significantly moved (Law 23 to Law 72C to make way 

for a new definition)

 So Let’s Start at the beginning with changes to “Definitions”
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Changes to ‘Definitions’

 An ‘artificial call’  includes ones that conveys information other than (or in 

addition to) the denomination last named, a pass that promises more than a 

certain amount of strength or that promises or denies strength in a suit other 

than the last one named.

 Dummy now ‘ceases to be dummy when play ends’

 ‘Misinformation’ is now defined as failure to accurately disclose partnership 

method or understanding as and when required by law or regulation

 ‘Presumed Declarer’ is defined as one who in the absence of an irregularity 

would become declarer.

 ‘Tournament’ is defined as a synonym for event.

 ‘Visible card’ is one whose face may be seen by EITHER opponent or partner.

Law 1 : The Pack

 B. The Regulating Authority may require the face of each card to be 

symmetrical

 C. The backs of each card should be identical and contain a point of 

symmetry. (i.e. it is impossible to tell which way the card is played/ held) 

Comment

B. This specifically empowers Regulating Authorities to use those cards where the 

central suit is broken into two top parts. This reduces the ease of using the 

placement of the card on the table to convey information.
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Law 6 – The Shuffle and Deal

 B… No two adjacent cards from the deck shall be dealt into the same hand.

Comment

This means that you can deal ‘A B C D E D C B’ A B C D E … and merge hands A and 

E, but you can’t deal ‘A B C D D C B A’.

Random dealing is frowned upon as two cards may be dealt into the same hand 

by mistake.

The laws recommend dealing one at a time in a clockwise manner to each player 

– but this is not a requirement.

The best way of randomising is through several (7+) ‘riffle shuffles’ – an extra 

way is to shuffle each hand before combining them.

Law 7 – control of board and cards 

 A. The board shall ‘remain correctly orientated’ on the table until play is 

completed.

 B3. No player shall touch any cards but their own during play except by 

permission of an opponent or director.

Comment

A – tidies up the law. You must leave the board on the table while play is in 

progress so that e.g. information about vulnerability is readily available.

B3 – this a significant change. Previously only the director could give permission, 

which meant that helpful players playing a card from dummy when the dummy 

had left the table were committing an irregularity. Now the declarer can give 

permission e.g. when he can’t reach right across the table.
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Law 9 – Procedure following an 

Irregularity

 A3 Any player, including dummy, may try and prevent an irregularity (but for 

dummy subject to laws 42 and 43)

 A4 Dummy may not draw attention to an irregularity until play has concluded 

(but see law 20F5 for correction of Declarer’s mistaken explanation)

Comment

Previously dummy could only try and prevent an irregularity by declarer.

A4 will come up later when discussing modified claims procedures.

Law 16 – Authorised and Unauthorised 

Information

 B1a a player may not choose a call or play that is demonstrably suggested 

over another by unauthorised information if the other call or play is a logical 

alternative.

Comment

This corrects the possibility that a player could argue that their choice was not a 

logical alternative (which is what the old law implied was a requirement): now it 

only needs the other calls or play to be logical alternatives.

This also applies to an offending side from a withdrawn call or play (C2)
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Law 18 - Bids

 D) … It is an infraction to make an insufficient bid (see law 27 for 

rectification)

Comment

Previously, although there was rectification in place, there was no statement in 

the laws that an insufficient bid was actually an infraction. The only real affect 

of this is that a player may not now make an insufficient bid even if they are 

prepared to accept the penalty (72B) and that the director should be summoned 

(9B1).

Law 20 – Review and explanation of calls
 F4a When a player realises during the auction that his own explanation was erroneous or 

incomplete he must summon the director before the end of the clarification period and 
correct the explanation. He may elect to call the director sooner, but he is under no 
obligation to do so (For correction during the play period see law 75B2)

 G1 A player may not ask a question if his sole purpose is to benefit partner

 G2 A player may not ask a question if his sole purpose is to elicit an incorrect response from 
an opponent.

Comment

F1 – you must now explain all inferences, not just relevant ones. A player that is compelled to 
pass cannot now request a review and explanation.

F4 - Previously the duty under F4 applied immediately. Opponents are still protected if a 
corrected explanation is not given. 

G1 – previously it was merely ‘improper’ to do so, but not actually an infraction.

G2 – this protects players from being ‘tricked’ into situations where their actions are going to be 
limited by law 16B or where opponents may claim misinformation. Also it means that a player 
cannot use the method to let his partner know opponents may be having a misunderstanding.
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Law 23 – Comparable call

The director should explain this when the need occurs, but in preparation

 A A comparable call is one that has the same or similar meaning to, or is a 

subset of the possible meanings of, or has the same purpose of the replaced 

call.

 B If a comparable call is available then there is no further rectification BUT

 C If the Director decides that the result of the board could well have been 

affected by the original infraction, he shall award an adjusted score.

Comment

This extends the options available for replacing a withdrawn call.

Directors needn’t worry – the old law 23 has been moved to law 72C

Law 25 – Legal and illegal changes of 

call

 A1 If you discover that you have made a call you did not intend to make, you may, 
until your partner makes a call, change it! There is now no obligation to make the 
change ‘without pause for thought’

 A2 The reason for the unintended call must be a mechanical error (pulling the 
wrong call from the bidding box) or a slip of the tongue (saying the wrong thing). 
You cannot change a call made due to lack of concentration

Comment

If, for example, you forget you play transfers after 1NT is doubled and call ‘2 Hearts’, 
and then realise that this actually implies spades (whether due to partner’s alert or 
otherwise), then you can’t change it.

The next batch of laws deal with how the director corrects irregularities and 
therefore not pertinent to this discussion.
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Law 40 – Partnership understandings
 A4 the agreed meaning of a call or play shall not alter by reference to the member 

of the partnership by whom it was made. (This does not restrict style or 
judgement, only method)

 B1a An agreement between partners, whether explicit or implicit, is a partnership 
understanding

 B2aiv The RA may disallow prior partnership agreement to vary its understandings 
during the auction or play following an irregularity by the opponents

Comment

A4 formally a regulating authority could allow different meanings of calls/ plays 
depending on who made it. This option is now unavailable. So you can’t have one 
person playing transfers and the other making weak take-outs after 1NT, to make sure 
the stronger player plays the hand. (You can have the stronger player making natural 
calls at the 3-level, when the weaker would initially transfer at the 2-level)

B1a defines a partnership understanding. This was how the law was interpreted but is 
now formally written down.

B2aiv But not presumably following your own irregularity. I assume this means you can 
have an agreement that if partner is going to be forced to pass then you play all calls 
as being natural.

This concludes the laws based generally on the auction period.

Law 41 – commencement of play

 D – Dummy’s Hand : the word ‘separate’ has been added to stop ‘smart’ 

people from putting down dummy in only two columns (for example) with two 

suits in each.
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Law 42 – Dummy’s rights

 A3 – he plays the cards as declarer’s agent as directed and ensures that 

Dummy follows suit (see law 45 if Dummy suggests a play)

 B2 – he may try to prevent any irregularity

Comment

A3 - Previously, if declarer instructed dummy to revoke, then dummy had to 

revoke. Now at least you can prevent that

B2 – as mentioned before, previously this only applied to declarer’s potential 

irregularity.

Law 43 – Dummy’s limitations

 A1a Dummy may not initiate a call for the director during play unless another 

player has drawn attention to an irregularity

 A3 A defender may not show dummy his hand

Comment

A1a – this law has been strengthened (it was previously ‘should not’) – if you have 

been of the habit of calling the director then you are more likely to get penalised 

for doing so.

A3 – self explanatory.  Showing dummy your hand may let your partner 

‘accidentally’ see your cards, and the manner of doing so may pass information 

over.
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Law 45 – Card Played

 C4b Declarer may correct an unintended designation of a card from dummy 

until he next plays a card from his own hand or dummy. (this is only if the 

designation was a slip of the tongue, not a lapse of concentration)

Comment

Previously this applied to any player but, as you can imagine, defenders don’t 

normally ‘designate’ cards – they play them. If you were in the habit of saying 

“The ten of diamonds” when looking for a card to play from your hand as 

defender then you must now play it, (if you hold the card), even if you meant to 

say “The Ace of Diamonds”.

Law 46 – incomplete or invalid 

designation of a card from dummy

 If you call ‘high’ or ‘low’ (or similar) then this now refers to the suit led.

Comment

This change was not strictly necessary (the requirement to follow suit takes 

precedence over all laws) – however it stops people from saying that dummy 

should revoke because the highest card is an Ace of another suit.
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Law 50 – disposition of a penalty card

 The director should explain the new rules but you should be aware

 When the penalty card is on the table, information from the card and the 
requirements to play it are now authorised.

 When it is returned to hand, information derived from it is unauthorised to partner 
(but authorised to declarer)

 When it has been played the circumstances under which it was created is 
unauthorised to partner (but authorised to declarer)

 If declarer has been damaged due to assistance from the penalty card while on the 
table then he can call the director and ask for an adjusted score 

Comment

The last covers situations where defenders can count the hand/ points etc and 
thus work out a better defence etc.

Law 51 – Two or more penalty cards

 Previously you had to demand or forbid a lead in a suit in which there was a 

penalty card

 Now you can decide to let the offender’s partner lead any card and the 2 (or 

more) penalty cards remain on the table.

There follows various laws on leads out of turn, premature leads and revokes – all 

of which should be dealt with by calling the director who will explain the 

position.
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Law 65 – Arrangement of Tricks

 B3 A player may draw attention to a card pointed incorrectly but this right 

expires when his side leads or plays to the following trick. If done later law 

16B (extraneous information from partner) may apply.

Comment

Previously declarer had the right to do this at any time and defenders lost the 

right when a card was lead to the next trick (thus this change increases the 

correction period for defenders when the declaring side leads).

Presumably when the right expires this becomes a ‘may not’ law, meaning a 

penalty may be applied. Note that if dummy corrects a card pointed incorrectly 

by declarer after the right has expired then law 16B will apply to declarer.

Law 66 – Inspection of tricks

 B Until his side has led or played to the next trick, declarer or either defender 

may inspect, but not expose, his own last card played

Comment

This used to be ‘until a card is led to the next trick’ – the effect is that your right 

to look at your last card extends a bit further if the other side lead.

And now to the single most significant changes to the 2007 laws with regard to 

permitted procedures.
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Law 68 – claim or concession of tricks

 C A claim should be accompanied at once by a clear statement of the line of 
play or defence through which the claimer proposes to win the tricks claimed, 
including the order in which the cards will be played. The player making the 
claim or concession faces his hand.

Comment

This is now a formalised correct procedure – there are usually no penalties for 
not making a statement as prescribed (it is a ‘should’ statement) and no penalty 
for not facing the hand (a ‘does’ statement) – but remember that any doubtful 
points will be adjudicated against the claimer if the claim is disputed and IF the 
director is then called. ????? IF ?????

 D After any claim or concession, play is suspended

What on earth has happened to ‘PLAY CEASES’??????

Law 68D – Suspension of play
 1 If the claim/ concession is agreed then law 69 applies – no change there.

 2 If it is doubted by any player, dummy included then EITHER

 A) The director is immediately summoned and no action should be taken pending his 
arrival (he applies law 70) OR

 B) On request of the non-claiming or non-conceding side play may continue subject to 
the following

 All four players must concur (otherwise A applies)

 The prior claim or concession is void and not subject to adjudication. There is no unauthorised 
information and exposed cards are not penalty cards and the score obtained subsequently will 
stand.

Comment

Although the Director must apply law 70 if summoned, whilst players are getting 
used to the new rule, as a director I would explain the consequences of both options 
before proceeding.

Play is only suspended, not ended. This means that Dummy is still bound by the 
rights and limitations regarding drawing attention to irregularities etc. (Laws 42 and 
43). (There is now no ‘Play Ceases’ statement. Probably both law 69 and law 70 
should have included it - for completeness.)



25/04/2017

13

Law 73 – Communication, Tempo and 

Deception

 B Players shall not communicate… by questions asked or not asked, or alerts 

and explanations given or not given

 E A player may appropriately attempt to deceive an opponent through a call 

or play (so long as the deception is not emphasised by unwonted haste or 

hesitancy…..

Comment

B – this extends the restriction, previously it was only to opponents

E – thinking before doubling (for example) in an attempt to make opponents 

think you are unsure about your double , and thus less likely to run and more 

likely to redouble is not allowed.

Law 74 – Conduct and etiquette 

 A2 A player should avoid any remark or extraneous action that might cause 

annoyance…..

If an opponent does a double squeeze on myself and partner, this line of play 

might cause me annoyance – they got a good score. However I NOW have no 

cause to complain. (Under the old laws, technically I could)

Similarly I cannot now complain if my partner makes a stupid call, like taking out 

a penalty double…..
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Law 75 – Mistaken Explanation or 

Mistaken Call

 A A player must carefully avoid taking any advantage from an explanation that 

a call has been incorrectly interpreted.

 C If a mistaken call is correctly explained, the explanation must not be 

corrected immediately and there is no obligation to do so subsequently

Comment

This tidies up matter – If you make a call that you thought showed hearts and 

your partner says it showed spades – and you realise he was correct, then you 

mustn’t say “Oh I meant hearts” – that is unauthorised information and you need 

not say “When I made the call I thought I was showing hearts” at the end of the 

auction.

Law 79 – Tricks Won

 Subject to approval of the Tournament organiser, a scoring error may be 
corrected after expiry of the correction period, if the Director is satisfied 
beyond reasonable doubt that the record is wrong.

Comment

Previously, if you found out that a wrong score had been entered when you 
checked your results, and the correction period (usually 30 minutes after end of 
the session) had expired, you could only have your score corrected if the 
conditions of contest issued by the Tournament Organiser permitted it. Now if 
you can persuade the Tournament Organiser and the Director that the result was 
wrong, it may now be corrected.

(This change resulted from a couple of high-profile tournaments where the 
incorrect scores affected the overall winners – but the conditions of contest did 
not permit the results to be changed.)


